Sunday, August 12, 2012

0165. Philippines - Malabrigo Lighthouse

Malabrigo Lighthouse is located on the Southermost point of Batangas Province in Southern Luzon overlooking the Verde Island Passage.  This Lighthouse is one of the 24 lighthouses erected in the Philippines during the course of the Spanish Colonial period.

The Lighthouse was with tower, pavilion and service buildings, were incorporated to accommodate the lights as well as the keepers who would operate the lighthouse.

Malabrigo Lighthouse was commemorated by Philippines Post in its Lighthouse Stamp Series - I with the release of 6 peso stamp on 22-Dec-2005.

Established in 1896, the Malabrigo Lighthouse:
  • Tower is CYLINDRICAL brick
  • Tower is painted WHITE
  • Lantern is made of aluminium
  • Tower with double Gallery
  • Height is 17 metres
  • Colour scheme of the LIGHT is WHITE
  • LIGHT character is THREE FLASHES every 15 seconds

No comments:

Post a Comment